I’ve been finding inspiration in many places lately – and isn’t that where we want to find it, in a multitude of sources? It’s no secret that I love dancing, whether I’m donning pink tights and a tutu, black tights and barefoot, or a mini skirt and stilettos (read: ballet, modern/jazz or possibly cleaning the house, Saturday night). I love moving the body, and truly tapping into how that makes my body and spirit feel. Reading through some quotes, I stumbled across this one:

“The dance is a poem of which each movement is a world.” ~Mata Hari

I also love Mata Hari – seductress, dancer, alleged spy.. And I feel this quote can extend to yoga – each movement being its own world. I’ve been chatting with friends and colleagues here lately about feeling yoga..truly feeling each movement, on a “5-senses” level..not just feeling in the figurative heart. It was brought to my attention after a class recently of something I said during my cues, “Don’t just take your arms overhead, but reach and lengthen the body as you inhale.” This student mentioned it really changed that moment for him, and that’s one thing I live for as a yoga teacher.. to change ones viewpoint of their own practice, and at the same time helping me change mine! Students don’t often realize that as teachers, we learn more from teaching and watching you than you learn from us. So when the student brought this to my attention, it returned me to a period in my personal practice that I felt I was truly feeling every stretch and lengthen and twist and fold with every fiber and breath of my being. After teaching as much as I have been lately – 7 days a week, multiple classes a day – it’s easy to fall back into ‘going through the motions’ during my own practice and I found myself craving the connectedness with my body, every morsel as it moves within my skin and breath. So next time you’re in a class… perhaps try tapping into the moment within each movement. It’s another level of being present and aware. Sure, you can be focused on the alignment and the poses and such, but going a little deeper and actually feeling the massage as you fold your torso over your legs in Paschimottananasa or Uttanasana is truly a beautiful thing. And perhaps it’ll relieve the burnout factor if you feel you’ve just been “going through the motions.” Perhaps try to feel the motions. Spring is a beautiful time to till the soil and plant some fresh roots.. in your garden, or in your practice!

“Burnout is nature’s way of telling you, you’ve been going through the motions your soul has departed; you’re a zombie, a member of the walking dead, a sleepwalker. False optimism is like administrating stimulants to an exhausted nervous system.” ~Sam Keen

Don’t let the winter blues burn you out.. Spring is springing, let’s awaken and take advantage!

~Namaste

